Don’t Blink!

Don’t blink, you’ll miss it!  How many times have you heard those words in your lifetime? More than a few times I’m sure.  However, those words may have never been more relevant than they are now when they are uttered in reference to the continued pace of technology change. Yes, in the time it takes you to blink an eye, something if not many things will have changed regarding technology.

The first personal computer I saw was a Radio Shack TRS-80.  It wasn’t too much longer after that I saw my first IBM-PC.  Both were dual-floppy models! For the younger ones of you that means that one floppy disk contained the programs and the other floppy disk stored the data. There was no such thing as a hard drive in those days. I honestly can’t remember the amount of memory on the machines, but I can assure you it was miniscule!  To say that the processing speeds of these machines were faster than a glacier is simply untrue! Blink!

Rapidly, as hardware began to develop, I hurried through the IBM-XT and the IBM-AT. Blink! Then on to a Compaq Luggable! Blink! Blink!  Then through a veritable plethora of Compaq notebooks and laptops Blink! Blink! Blink! to the HP EliteBook I use today! Blink! Oh yeah, I forgot my Ipad!  So in what seems to be in the blink of an eye I have seen my personal computing resources progress from a stand-alone, oversized, unconnected piece of metal to the light weight almost continously connected composite materials of a touchscreen device! Blink!  What’s next?

While I believe we will continue to see enormous advances in the hardware we use I am convinced that this rapid change is presenting all of us with overwhelming quantities of information and data.  Some of that information and data is valuable, the rest not so valuable. So the issue becomes how we utilize this information to accomplish what we do in our daily activities both on the job and in our personal lives before it becomes obsolete. Blink! Rumors are a second version of the Ipad will be available before Christmas!

3 Responses to “Don’t Blink!”

  1. I’m with you (although I’m too young to remember some of those computers). Also think of the progress in phone technology! It makes it very difficult to buy a new smartphone when I know there will be a newer, faster one in a matter of months if not sooner. Very exciting times, yet frustrating if you want to stay ahead.

  2. I didn’t have a TRS 80 but I did have a dual floppy sewing machine sized IBM “portable”. The little orange screen was so cool versus the bland green screens of the Compaq. Memory was about 256kb, no hard drive. When we moved to the 20MB hard cards we thought we were in hog heaven. Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  3. I enjoyed the Vic-20, and was excited when upgraded to the Commodore-64, since it had internal memory and I didn’t lose everything each time i turned the computer off. Then moved up to the Kaypro in my first job that had a personal computer. I liked the jog down memory lane too.

Leave a Reply

